Patch: Improved notification preview

Your rating: None Average: 4.6 (11 votes)

Moves a bit enlarged icon inside the notification bubble and provides settings to customize notification preview's look and behavior.

You can determine

  • Style of the preview
  • Margin and corner radius (if selected style permits)
  • Maximum and minimum width
  • Duration which the preview is shown
  • What tapping  the preview and swiping it left, right and/or down does.

No more waiting for notifications to time-out out of the way or gathering useless notifications to the events view.

Currently, removing does not work with email notifications. It has probably something to do with notification's email address headers as normally the header is the app's name.

Requires Patchmanager.

You can help translate the patch to your own language on Transifex.

Donations are welcome:


* Fri Feb 23 2018 0.4.2-2

  • French and Russian translations, thanks to Guesnery and Ancelad

* Fri Feb 23 2018 0.4.2-1

  • Fix for

* Sat Nov 4 2017 0.4.1-4

  • Fix for (and possibly earlier versions)

* Fri Nov 2 2017 0.4.1-2

  • Spanish translation, thanks to Caballlero

* Mon Oct 16 2017 0.4.1

  • Duration setting
  • Small fixes

* Fri Oct 13 2017 0.4

  • Settings page with lot of customation options
  • Bugfixes

* Tue Jul 25 2017 0.3

  • Soft corner only if it doesn't face the side of the screen
  • Notification preview's width is determined by the body text
  • Mimimum preview width is 80% of the portrait-screen-width
  • Maximum is full screen width

* Sat Jul 15 2017 0.2

  • Changed patch for overall notification preview improvement patch.
  • Portrait-screen-wide notification
  • Icon moved inside notification bubble and enlarged
  • Reduced the margins restricting preview texts a bit

* Sat Jul 15 2017 0.1

  • First build.


saba's picture

No. I only installed it yesterday. The last update i did was from to 2 days ago.

Ingvix's picture

That sounds odd. If you are familiar with terminal, could you run command

tail -f "/var/lib/patchmanager/ausmt/ausmt.log"

and leave it running and then try to unapply the patch. Copy the command output and upload it to and give me a link

If you're not too familiar with terminal, after unapplying you can just to the file "/var/lib/patchmanager/ausmt/ausmt.log" and from the end of the file and copy the last logging starting with:

  contains text patch

and pastebin that.

Noerde's picture

I have the same error. Can't uninstall the patch. But I forgot /the automatic remove didn't work when I installed .4.13, now .4.14 won't install as patchmanager tries to uninstall all patches first - and failing.

Ingvix's picture

Easiest fix would be to first remove the file "/usr/share/lipstick-jolla-home-qt5/notifications/NotificationPreview.qml.webosinternals.orig" then in the same directory rename "NotificationPreview.qml" to "NotificationPreview.qml.webosinternals.orig" then create a new "NotificationPreview.qml" and paste this in it.

@sada, this might be the fix for you too, depending a bit on your log output. If you're not sure, it's better not to mess with anything and just pastebin the output first.

Noerde's picture

Yep, after reboot the update continues as it should, thanks.

edit: after update it still shows the patch as installed, and it can't be removed. What has changed though is that it actually works. After.13 update it did not work, it could not be uninstalled. Now it just canät be uninstalled :)

saba's picture

I get "Failed to remove patch" when i try to unapply it. even uninstalling it stays in the patch manager and can't be removed

Ingvix's picture

When did this start happening? Did you update the system without unapplying the patch, which should not be done under any circumstances?

alina's picture

Wow, great update!

feldbaum's picture

Hallo Ingvix, i can install the newest version but if i want to apply the patch in patchmanager it failed. I am on lijoki. Any ideas.

Ingvix's picture

I'm not sure. Did a previous version work? Do you have developer mode enabled and are you familiar with terminal?

feldbaum's picture

Yes, 0.3-1 works for me. Developer mode is enabled,but i´m not very familiar with terminal. But we can try it.

Ingvix's picture

Well, there's maybe no need to use terminal if you have a file browser that can access the system folders. Try to enable the patch once more and then copy the last logging in the file "/var/lib/patchmanager/ausmt/ausmt.log" starting where it says

  contains text patch

and paste it to Pastebin.

feldbaum's picture

I paste it to Pastebin ( Search : Sailfish OS - improved-notification-preview )

(edit: )

Hope you will find it. Good luck and sail on.

Ingvix's picture

Well, eh, you could've just linked the pastebin page to your comment but I found it anyway. Could you also paste the beginning of the file '/usr/share/lipstick-jolla-home-qt5/notifications/NotificationPreview.qml'? Only the import statements before "SystemWindow". It's a short list so you just paste it to the comment. With that I should be able to fix it.

feldbaum's picture

OK. I do my very best. here it is.

hope it works

Ingvix's picture

Bit more than I requested but that doesn't matter. I got what I needed and uploaded a new release with a fix. Try and see if it works.

feldbaum's picture

Thanks Ingvix,now I was able to install the new version and apply it in patchmanager. But i am unable to open it in settings and it shows me no notification anymore.:-(


Ingvix's picture

I figured out the problem and the new release should solve it. Try and see.

feldbaum's picture

The new release solved the problem. Thanks Ingvix. You are a hero. I like the patch very much.

Ingvix's picture

You're very welcome.

naytsyrhc's picture

I really love this patch. Notifications look so much better and as they should have looked from the beginning. Thanks a lot!

Ingvix's picture

You're very welcome.

olf's picture

Wow @Ingfx, the customisations "Patch: Improved notification preview" v0.4 provides are incredibly cool!

I almost had trouble to decide between the many choices it offers now, but even that is quite easy with the ability to preview the notification preview look with the top pulley in its settings entry.

Two suggestions came to my mind playing and enjoying it:

  1. IMHO its settings entry should be called "Notification preview" (instead of just "Notification"), as that is what it is all about.
  2. If it is technically feasible, a setting for the duration a notification preview is displayed would make your Patch even more perfect.

Thank you so much for this extremely useful and nice looking improvement of the SailfishOS GUI!

Ingvix's picture

I was sort of thinking that Notification could be the page's main subject in case there'd be some settings for notification in general by someone in the future or something like that. Though it might've been a bit too precautious of me. If that kind of case would present itself I could just update my patch to match it. So I guess I'll change the settings entry to Notification preview for the time being as you suggested.

The preview's duration setting can be implemented quite easily. I'll do it for the next release.

olf's picture

Kudos, as you created the 0.4.1 release incredibly quick and ... it's incredibly cool!

alina's picture

Very well implemented. However I prefer that the direction won't be important for the action, i.e. swiping to both left and right will do the same thing and we will have an additional swipe to top e.g. for deletion.

Ingvix's picture

I will see if I can implement optional swipe directions for different actions in the next release.

MoritzJT's picture

Could you give your patch a few options about width and what it derives from?

Best patch in a while! I disliked those non dismissable obstructions...

Ingvix's picture

Yes, settings are on to-do list.

olf's picture

This seems to be a small bug, when determining the width of a notification preview:
When the first ("title") line is longer than the second line (which is rarely the case), it is still truncated and "fades out" near the right edge. It looks, as if the width of a notification preview is solely calculated based on the second ("Details") line; but when the first line is longer, IMO its width should be used instead of the width of the second line.